• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

Need help finding good quality Services watch

Iron Mike May

Hi

Im still fairly new to the watch appreciation scene but throughly enjoying it so far. 

I would like to add an English watch to my collection and as local as possible. After doing a bit of reading (mainly on here) I discovered that Services watches were once in Leicester. Since then I have also discovered that my aunt used to work there. This ticks many of the boxes so I thought that I would try and find a good one without breaking the bank (sometimes like finding the holy grail so I’m learning). After looking on the usual sites I have seen a couple on eBay, a Competitor listed as being from the 50s and an Antimagnetic which does look.ike it is in good condition. The Competitor looks like it has some nice patina on the face but does not look to be sitting straight in the case, I’m assuming that this is not a design feature so I am a bit put off by it. 

We are taking my aunt for afternoon tea next month for her 80th birthday so I’d really like to be wearing one for the inevitable trip down memory lane but I also don’t want to get ripped off. 

If anyone could give me any help of steer me in the right direction I’d really appreciate it. 

Thanks in advance. 

@mach 0.0013137 is the World's leading fan/expert at Services watches, and I am sue he will be along soon.

The Competitor - the case back can revolve and take the movement with it.  They just clip together and there is nothing locating the caseback and movement to the bezel part.  The misaligned watch you mention might just need a twist.  As long as the crown still lines up with three you are probably okay.