UK Watch Forum banner

Where to buy cheap watches

2K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  spinynorman 
#1 ·
Evening, I have recently joined as I have always had an interest in watches and need a hobby to focus my mind and fettling watches seemed to be the logical move. I am a complete amateur when it comes to repair, I can replace batteries/capacitors, resize bracelets etc but I am very keen to expand my skill set. I am a visual learner and tend to learn most effectively when I'm immersed in the task so I was just want advice on where to buy some starter projects. I obviously don't want to start with a Lecoultre or Omega, but I would like a cheap mechanical watch that I can dismantle, reassemble and get a feel for so I can start to understand the mechanisms and engineering involved before I start to actually repair and built my collection with watches that I have serviced, repaired and kept alive.

#2 ·
Get some working pocket watches with jewelled lever movements. The extra size will help you become accustomed to the parts and tools. You will need quite a bit of kit as time goes on, but good screwdrivers and tweezers are a must to start IMO - I favour Horotec for both of these. Invest well once rather than buying twice. If the hobby goes away from you a good set of tools still fetches good money.

You may want to look at courses at the BHI. Not cheap but very good. I've done basic watch (on a pocket watch, hence my reasoning), quartz and I'm booked onto another.

Reactions: Always"watching"
#4 ·
Pocket Watches are a good start as a bit easier to do size wise. Definitely find some decent screwdrivers, there are cheap ones actually some aren't bad others terrible (beware of cheap imitations). Its fun, frustrating and always a good supply of them on E-bay. A good cleaner ultra sonic cleaner , and some decent cleaning fluid. I use latex gloves and finger gloves.

As i am only a beginner myself a supply of Headache Tablets an essential lol.

#6 ·