• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

[Rado] Hardly ever see these on here, what are the community's opinions on Rado watches?

PETER3456

I'm brand new to the watch owners community and to the subreddit as well. This is the first decent watch I will own and first automatic one as well. I received it as a gift from my in-laws yesterday and am a bit overwhelmed. I'm also interested what kind of caliber I am dealing with here. Rado doesn't seem very often discussed here. What are the general thoughts on the brand here? What about this particular style of watch?

I have to say I really love the clean style of it and the color. I don't like too many complications but really liked the idea of including a power reserve indicator.

• Like 1

Some excellent vintage models Voyager. Purple Horse Golden Castle The Captain Cook etc.  Of course as @relaxer7 says can be a minefield. Always found them decent quality if you steer away from the bling :laughing2dw: although there are some dodgy vintage bracelets out there with dubious heritage also.

The newer Swatch models look fairly good build quality in the price range from the ones I have handled although some of the quartz are a little pricey IMO.

Sadly hold there value like a Cadillac driving off the forecourt :(

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I've always had a soft spot for their 'ceramica' dress watches, I'd really love one but they fall into that gap between 'bargain' and 'lust' that other wonderful brands like Longines, Oris and the like do (for me anyway) where the cost of one would be either 2 or 3 nice bargains or the deposit on a 'lust' watch at 0% interest - assuming the money saved to buy one hasn't been spent on some emergency or other :laugh: