• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Jet Jetski

My Russian Watches (from Blackie the dog to the longest human space flight ever)

Hi, I was a bit hesitant to post, as I am a novice collector, and I am far from shouting 'look at my great watches' (I have not gone out of my way to source fine examples - I'm not the type to cry over a replacement crystal or replaced hands - in fact 'Good idea!', I say.), but on my wanderings I have come across some interesting side-topics like waterproof watches, Radioactive dials, etc.  And please don't think I am presuming ignorance on the part of the reader, either, I know many of you are far more knowledgeable than I.  So, hesitant or not, this is my best shot, some will get more out of it than others (p.s. If anyone can hint as to where my 3133 re-issue Strela was made, that would be great - see references at the end):

56119790_128427034895209_230721993277911

A bit about my watches.

Given the focus on speed of production, the taxonomy of Soviet watches must be 'interesting',  and I have read several threads on what exact year watches were made with these exact hands, movements, cases etc, several ending in despair.  I work in a pharmaceutical environment, and know what it takes to control every product to conform to a precise specification (and your suppliers' products upstream), and so I have decided to content myself with what are undoubtedly, to use a pedigree analogy, like 'wee broon dugs' at Crufts.  I hope you like them though.

You will gather that I am mostly interested to have examples of the movements, and don't mind paying a little bit more for some customisation of dials or hands, if tastefully done.  I have also been known to pull a leg or two.