• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Smalltimeguy

New to vintage watches - need help with Smiths deluxe on the bay

I'm new to watch collecting and won't be buying a lot, but I'm interested in a Smiths because I recently started a job at Smiths Medical which it turns out is one of the divisions of what used to be Smiths Watches. Funny how time changes things. But I thought I should have a company watch. 

I'm watching a couple on eBay, a DeLuxe  from a watch retailer, Hour Vintage Watch Shop, and two from an individual, an English Astral in very Good shape and a DeLuxe in average shape. The first is serviced and looks great, 1953 vintage. Price is £140 (about $180 USD) 

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Gents-vintage-watch-Smiths-deluxe-England-serviced-15-jewels-c400-1953-A-409/312578428855?_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIM.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20180213162448%26meid%3D90f864bcbc8643dab9ee46ec302ef909%26pid%3D100930%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D8%26sd%3D382841597898%26itm%3D312578428855&_trksid=p2349624.c100930.m5375

The other two are running but of unknown accuracy, unserviced, and have no bands. But they're only $50. Advice please! 

https://www.ebay.com/itm/SMITHS-DE-LUXE-WATCH-GOLD-PLATED-DATE-15J-MADE-IN-ENGLAND/192894886343?_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIM.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20180213162448%26meid%3D5138807d93214c81b501ad6dc2ac876b%26pid%3D100930%26rk%3D5%26rkt%3D8%26sd%3D192894890309%26itm%3D192894886343&_trksid=p2349624.c100930.m5375

• Like 2

I've got nothing relevant to add, beyond saying Smith's is an excellent choice - lots of heritage there, and the job connection resonates with me - I always try to buy myself a watch to mark milestones like that :)

Vintage can be a minefield though, so definitely worth seeking advice!