• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Toby843

Hi everyone. New to watches.

Hey everyone, 

Glad to be part of a forum and I'm new to watches really. I'm loving learning about them and day dreaming about collecting them etc. 

Recently got my first decent watch, a seiko alpinist, I just loved it from the first time I saw one and my girlfriend was good enough to get me one for my birthday. 

I think that makes a great first watch and I have a few different straps for it to fit a few different occasions and styles. 

As luck would have it I should coming into around 4-5 grand which I can allocate to watches so I'm after some suggestions. Also luckily my girlfriend has said she'd buy me a watch when we get engaged and she's floating an omega speedmaster professional as a possible price point. 

So assuming I have the alpinist and we'll count the speedmaster in as well, what do you think for the 4-5 grand? I'm thinking a diver or gmt and dress watch to round off the collection. Should I just get one good watch for all the money or split it. 

I really do want a rolex one day just so I have had one and I'm wondering about trying to stretch the budget to reach an older datejust or explorer 2 which would be great but maybe I'd be better getting a couple of really nice quality divers/gmt or dress watch. I'm thinking:

Squale 

Sinn u2

Nomos

Junghuns

Stowa flieger gmt

Hamilton 

Tudor

Etc etc

Any thoughts? 

Cheers

fairly new here as well.?