• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
DaveRob

Springs in Enfield mantel clock

Hello all, this is my first post to what looks like a great forum. I am a total newbie to this forum malarky, so bare with me! After having a passing interest in clocks for years I decided to do what I had been saying I was going to do for ages and buy a longcase clock. I duly did this, a  present to myself last Christmas. It got me wanting to learn more about clocks in general, not only the historical side of them, but also to be a bit 'hands on'. I had bought a mantel clock with a Smiths Enfield movement sixteen years ago. The clock was always temperamental and it just became an ornament in the front room for years. It was cheap when I bought it so I had a ready 'victim' to dip my toe into clock repair/servicing. It strikes the hours, but does not have the added complication (well complicated for me at my level) of Westminster chiming. I have now took it apart and cleaned it. Being a complete and utter novice to all this I have no experience to call on as to whether the springs needed to be changed or just cleaned and oiled/greased. Could anyone give any advice, looking at the photo, as to whether it may be best to change them while I have the movement apart. Also will the springs be both the same length? The barrels are approx 45mm inside diameter. The going side is on the left, the strike side on the right. I have already looked online at a supplier of clock parts but the different spring sizes were a bit bewildering. They ask for the length, width, the thickness and also state a diameter. Is the diameter that they give, say 50mm , the inside diameter of the barrel that the spring goes in. Also if I do need to measure the length of the springs how do y