• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
zachary_hawk

Broken English lever pivot- pocket watches

My mother and I have recently taken up watch repair after inheriting some broken pocket watches. We have two watches that are proving rather tricky, both have an English lever which appears to have a broken pivot, it seems that the pivot may have been a jewel since there was some residue in the bearing on one of the watches. I’m very new to this so I’m sorry if I’ve said anything silly so far, please correct me if anything I’ve said is wrong. We haven’t had much luck searching the problem since we’re not strictly sure what we should be searching for, so any help would be appreciated.

I’ve only just realised how to add images, I’m new here too so apologies again! q8Gplgq.jpg

Hi Zachary,

I hope that You mother is a watcmaker...

Now seriously. Yes, the pivot is broken, and no, it was not a jewel. It was just the same like the other one. Ind I am pritty sure that it was not brokrn before Your attempt to assemble the watch the wrong way...

You should not search for anything as there are no spare parts for this kind of watches. It is like the old wooden carts - the four wheels have their own sizes of bearrings/axes and and no wheel will fit on wrong place.

There is no problem to repair the lever, there are 2 ways:

1. To turn a complete new staff.

2. To repiwot the staff - to drill a hole on place where the pivot was and then tight-fit new pivot in the hole, turn it to size and burnish.