• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Sign in to follow this  
James Walker

Balance Wheel Issue

Hi all

I'm new to horology namely pocket watches. I have acquired a few movements on eBay to practice on. I have managed to get some going again.  However there are some that I managed to get the balance wheel swinging albeit a low amplitude. But I'm flummoxed as to why when I turn them 180 degrees, the balance wheel stops.  Is this to do with gravity and/or not enough torque from the barrel spring?

Thanks

James

Hi James,

Probably You have a cylindre movement... In cylindre escapement, there is a pin on the balance rim and another pin under the balance bridge, they together limit rotation of the balance wheel to 180 degr. This is to avoid locking... Usually, amplitude is less than 90 when cylindre/'scape wheel pair is worn and no more than 120 when everything is perfect...

As for the amplitude, it depends on many things. If one wants good amplitude, then he must minimize  all looses in balance/hairspring itself, escapement, train and mainspring in the barrel. In cylindre escapement, looses because of friction in cylindre/esc. wheel pare are most significant... When the pair is worn or even not correctly lubricated, increasing the torque in train leads rather to slowing down and even stopping of balance, than to increasing of amplitude.

Hi nevenbekriev