• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

I have some experience of repairing clocks of mantle size, but a friend has asked whether I can repair a small clock from his 1938 car.  He thought that the spring had broken which is sort of true, but the actual problem is that it has become disengaged from the barrel.  In the clocks I am used to the end of the spring has a hole in it which engages with a hook made from an tab cut into the barrel.  This is similar but the end of the spring itself has been bent back to form a hook which is supposed to engage with the barrel.  

The end of the spring had broken off so I heated it and made a new bend in it.  I cannot, however, get this to engage wit the barrel hook which seems to be very close to the barrel.  

I am not sure whether my new spring end is the problem or whether the barrel hook should be more prominent.  I am wary of attempting to bend the barrel hook more for fear of breaking it off completely.  I did not "quench" the spring after I had heated it but the original seemed to be quite hard so maybe I should have done.

Can anyone offer advice?  Are new springs available with a bent back end?  I have never seen one, but then I have only dealt with much bigger springs and barrels - taking my life in my hands as I don't have a spring winder!

Thank you

Paul