• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Xeno

1973 SEIKO 6119-7103 Automatic.

Hi, firstly hello to all watch enthusiasts. I've been looking for a reliable forum, too many out there overrun with over zealous collectors clogging up the net. 

I've been collecting vintage watches for many years now, usually Technos, Cornavin, Vostok/Vostok Europe, Zodiac, Citizen, Seiko, Casio & Smith's. I've recently purchased a 1973 SEIKO 6119-7103 Automatic. The strap is original, but after a visit to a jeweller, the strap is still too big. The links for removing are present, but they just won't budge. The jeweller wasn't any use and handed back the watch unadjusted. Is there something I can use to help remove them. I'll take a photograph and add it to this post. I do not intend to sell this watch, I am a collector, not a dealer. 

Many thanks, Xeno. 

• Like 1

Welcome!

We look forward to seeing your collection and when you post clear images of your Seiko, I'm sure that the good folks on here will be able to advise how best to shorten the bracelet.

Jewellers are not watchmakers and it may need one of the latter to do the job for you if you're not confident of doing so yourself. Ordinarily, it should take a watchmaker only a couple of minutes and cost very little, if anything at all. Avoid jewellers and key-cuttting outfits for any watch repairs or servicing which you can't tackle yourself.

Regards.

6 hours ago, Xeno said:

Hi, firstly hello to all watch enthusiasts. I've been looking for a reliable forum, too many out there overrun with over zealous collectors clogging up the net.