• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

Hello from yet another newbie...

Kiwibyrd1

Question

Hi, and thanks very much for allowing me to join. I am not an expert in anything to do with clocks, so I'm hoping I'm in good company with at least a few others  here, and I acknowledge gratefully anything  useful and/or interesting I can learn/absorb along the way from other members, all of whom will have been on here longer than me, and who will have infinitely more knowledge than me about  clocks/watches and very likely for a long time thereafter...but what brought me to this forum? 

A lovely old spring-driven hand-painted wooden chimimg pendulum wall clock, belonging previously to my parents, now passed on to me. I remember it working well, (too) many years ago, when I was a child, and of Dad pulling the wind-up weight every night before bed. Occasionally us children were allowed to "wind" it up, as a treat for unuaually good behaviour, so that wasn't too often...!