• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

Dirty Dozen dilemma

I have been collecting the dirty dozen watches for a few years with the hope of maybe having the full set but fear I’m never going to attain this as prices  just seem to be getting out of control , I have 9 plus the movements from 2 Granas with the view of eventually finding bits to make a full watch , the three I haven’t got are naturally the most expensive, IWC , Longines and of course a Grana 

when I first started collecting them the full set would cost around 30k with some carefull buying  which I thought might be achievable with the Grana being bought for round 7-10k but one had come up for sale recently for 25k which to my mind is madness ,
A complete set came up for sale at the end of last year for 40k and will probably be broken down and sold separately , the problem is that some people are buying watches of all types just for investment and not as collectors which Is pushing the prices up ridiculously and I think falsely high and know of one investor that has full 3 sets plus spares !!!!  , look at the prices of Rolex’s for instance but we won’t go there .

I enjoy the history of them and of course wearing them but have lost a bit of enthusiasm , chase and not to mention money required to get to the end

So my dilemma is do I just sell them all and forget about ever achieving the goal of having all 12 or just play the waiting game with the hope of getting lucky one day  ? 

DF8EB058-FBC1-411D-BD54-4F995A443465.jpeg

640E25EC-152A-40DE-AA0A-7BE1EBD4D15A.jpeg

• Like 1