• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

Continually made classics? Seiko Alpinist etc

Hi, 

To date I have collected affordable watches, Hamilton mechanical, Seiko Alpinist, Smiths Everest. 

Im a mature student back at uni and 'if' I pass my wife wants to buy me a watch to mark the occaison. 

Im after a classic watch that is remade if possible, in the same way as new car models come out but they have the same name, and a classic product in the same way we think of a Zippo lighter or a Barbour wax jacket etc.

Seiko Alpinist is one come to think of it, the only one I think I have along the lines of what Im thinking. 

I dont want anthing too sporty or tooly, looking for an everyday or possibly into dressy. I like the Seiko Pressage with the arabics, the geen n gold, red or blue ones. Classic size also a preference 36mm, 38mm etc

Budget is a difficult one, ive looked at BALL on Jomashop for about £1000 but wouldnt pay full retail at a £1000 for something. I normally buy to value than budget. I like classic brands where your getting what yo upay for. When it starts becoming overpriced designer it turns me off. £1000 would be a max spend I think. 

Thanks

What about an Oris big crown? They've been making them since the 1930s. They're 40mm if that size would work, not sure how big they wear but several on here have one and I'm sure they could answer that. I think they look superb and will hopefully get one in the not too distant future :thumbsup:

• Like 1
15 hours ago, Mulligano said:

Couldn't agree with Longines more! There's also the Longines Conquest - with a more explorer vibe as opposed to diver, and available in 39 mm.