• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Sign in to follow this  
JoT

Mexican Standoff

Some of you may remember that I have a rather obscure collection of books on Witwatersrand gold mining 1886 - 1899.

I am one key book short - I know where it is, and its the only one on the market. Trouble is the bookseller wants too much for it and just will not budge.

I have been talking to this guy for almost three years - nobody else wants the damn book but he still isnt prepared to drop the price! The only concession he has made is that he will give me first option if someone else wants to buy it.

He is not going to give in - he knows I want it - so I am on the verge of paying his price.

Should I give in?

<_<<_<

JoT,

How much is too much?

100% more than the true value? Can you afford it?

Sometimes the value is what it means to you, if you can afford it, buy it.IMHO.

There are many things I want that I can't afford because I don't have much brass, but if I had the money I would buy them.

But, I could have an empty belly and no roof over my head, as many do. :(

You only live once. ;)

Stan ... he wants $450 for the book ... it is dificult to say what it is really worth ... sure its rare ... but as he has not been able to sell it in the last three years it would seem I am the only current collector of this subject in the world at present :)

I guess it is worth what I am prepared to pay for it :( can I afford it? ... Yes ... no wife helps :lol: I guess I am being stuborn because he is being stuborn.

I think both you and Roy are right.

How much ! :o

Hang on , thats a lot of money for a book you can buy a wife for that sort of money in some foreign parts.