• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Sign in to follow this  
Egger

How To Spot A Fake

Hi,

Can anyone offer any advice on how to spot a fake Omega Speedmaster Moon watch ?

I have been offered one and he says he has all the paper work etc so is this proof enough ?

I am just getting into watches so I would I guess be easily fooled !

Any advice very much welcome,

Thanks in advance

Mark

I'm sure others will say the same - buy the seller - if you don't know him and the deal sounds too good to be true then it probably is. Research the price for genuine items ( i'm guessing £800-£1200) and I think there is an omega buying guide on the bay too.

Get a picture of the serial number of the movement on the moon watch and submit it to Omega website for verification.

Get some photos and post them up here,

Is the seller a private seller? Are they from a forum?

Remember to 'buy the seller' if they check out with references or are a forum regular then you should be OK....

Also do lots of research, there are loads of reference photos out there on the net, read up and you will soon spot a dodgy one....

Hi,

I have seen it advertised but not on a forum. I dont know the guy and as far as I am aware he is not a member of any forums ( But I only know of this one )

He says he has all the paper work and box, he seems genuine enough but that isn't 100% assurance I know. He wants £875 for it and its 3 years old.

I will try and get some pics sent to me and is the Omega buyers guide on ltheir website?

Thanks

Mark

correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't a moon watch a specific Speedy from a few certain years (eg 1969-1974)?????, it strikes me a bit silly to call a speedy a moon watch when it actually wasn't.

please excuse the ignorance