• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
Sign in to follow this  
powelly

Just Won This

I won this old Timex manual wind over the weekend from an online auction site, not sure what the quality is like but I like the shape and it only cost £5 including postage.

3565467521_e773c83c3b.jpg

I really bought it as something to play with, according to the advert the day/date doesn't work, would anyone have any ideas what might be causing this and how I might go about repairing it.

I'm no expert but Timex movements can be a problem to take apart which is what you will need to do to get to the date wheels. They have the bridges pressed together not screwed on the ones I've seen. I think you will need to post some pics of the movement so that the guys can help out.

If you can let us have a photo of the movement and/or back, that will help ID the exact movement, and Knut, Watchnutz or PG or myself may well have service info for it. I should add though that it's often easier to swap out a movement than to "repair" one with Timex watches. having said that, often a clean and lube is enough to restore more than 90% of Ticka Timex' to full working order, they really are quite robust machines given the age and type of movement. :yes:

It should be a fairly easy fix. There's no need to disassemble the movement to correct any faults in the day/date feature - hands and dial only. Most likely it's a detent spring on the day wheel that's broken, and these can be replaced ( I probably have some avaliable ). I also have copies of the service manual for your movement ( most likely it's the 33 or 106 movement ) and I can email you or post them here once you get the watch :)