• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.

My First Pocket Watch Repair Planned

I'm new to pocket watches, and a friend just handed me a non-runner to look at. He's wondering if it's worth repairing. Having seen Flexipacs piece I suppose it would be, if I fixed it myself. I just need to know how to get started by removing the crown, as there seems to be no release button as on many watch movements.

Help!

I've found you can normally take out a movement without having to remove the crown

There's this piece on U Tube which might help get you started

There are a number of videos on there which you might find helpful

Can you take some pics as you work on your watch, I love WIP's

Chris :)

I've found you can normally take out a movement without having to remove the crown

There's this piece on U Tube which might help get you started..Can you take some pics as you work on your watch, I love WIP's

Many thanks for that..cheers. I'll upload some pictures in due course. It's not a very high quality case, being plated, but it's a Dennison from the 1930s with the very same description as the aforementioned Walton. The movement is 16-jewelled, and likewise plated so I imagine of quite good quality. It seems to have a broken mainspring. It's missing a second hand and needs a new glass. The dial bears no name, but is a nice enamelled one, and uncrazed. But it's wheels are very dirty inside, so a thorough strip down and clean is in order. I think it's well worth reparing even though the value is not high, such a pity to scrap it.

More to follow..

I think it's well worth reparing even though the value is not high, such a pity to scrap it.

More to follow..

It's a pity more folk don't feel that way