• Sign Up to reply and join the friendliest Watch Forum on the web. Stick around, get to 50 posts and gain access to your full profile and additional features such as a personal messaging system, chat room and the sales forum PLUS the chance to enter our regular giveaways.
drdvice

30Th Birthday Watch

Hello all,

I am relatively new to watches, although have been doing quite a lot of research into watchmaking as I had been asked to make a watch case for someone. That project has since been cancelled but my interest in watches remains.

My 30th birthday is approaching and my family have kindly offered to buy me a watch.

I have been looking into Steinhart's and Sinn's as well as others and seem to be drawn towards the Fliegers and Chrono's.

I have a budget of around £1000 and would be more than willing to go second hand, what would you all recommend? Bearing in mind that is something I will want to keep forever and will hopefully be the start of a collection!

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Before anyone else says it Omega Speedmaster! Lots to choose from with different styles, but would definately be used for this money

New, Glycine is worth a look at as well as the Sinn range. You might even spot something in the Longines range that suits too.

Importantly don't rush the decision but instead enjoy the buying experience. You might end up spending more or less than expected, so if you do really splash the cash (and a grand isn't change BTW), you might look for an IWC Fliegerchronograph

DSC_0011-1.jpg

Thanks for the replies, I would very much like a speedmaster, in fact tried on a mkV today but dont really like the chunkier case. Plus the guy was asking over 2k for it.

I've been scouring fleabay for one but am not that trusting of most of the auctions.

I was looking at

eBay item number:

400595466228 for instance.

It looks legit but I guess one wouldn't really know until its bought and taken to an expert!